Discussion:
What does this msg means ?
(too old to reply)
IT Staff
2009-08-25 05:48:36 UTC
Permalink
======================================================================================================================

The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled.

======================================================================================================================



i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?

Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.



Any idea ?
Danny Sanders
2009-08-25 17:30:05 UTC
Permalink
Post by IT Staff
The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled
This means the replication service detected that there was a problem with the connection. It thinks it has either been removed or disabled.
Post by IT Staff
i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?
So what has happened here is you disabled one of the replication connections and the replication service is reporting that connection, that you disabled, as disabled.
Post by IT Staff
Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.
I don't know what you are talking about here. Why are you disabling replication connections anyway?




hth
DDS

"IT Staff" <***@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:%***@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
======================================================================================================================

The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled.

======================================================================================================================



i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?

Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.



Any idea ?
IT Staff
2009-08-27 06:29:12 UTC
Permalink
I disabled the connection because i want a one-way connection from hub-spoke, instead of the default 2 ways bi-connections. We want only one member to push updates to another server.

Must i really wait for initial replication to complete before i disabled one connection ?
Post by IT Staff
The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled
This means the replication service detected that there was a problem with the connection. It thinks it has either been removed or disabled.
Post by IT Staff
i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?
So what has happened here is you disabled one of the replication connections and the replication service is reporting that connection, that you disabled, as disabled.
Post by IT Staff
Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.
I don't know what you are talking about here. Why are you disabling replication connections anyway?




hth
DDS

"IT Staff" <***@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:%***@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
======================================================================================================================

The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled.

======================================================================================================================



i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?

Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.



Any idea ?
Danny Sanders
2009-08-27 14:36:47 UTC
Permalink
I disabled the connection because i want a one-way connection from hub-spoke, instead of the default 2 ways bi-connections. We want only one member to push updates to another server.

I think you would be better off rethinking the setup instead of using one way replication. It has a tendency to "fix" itself and become 2 way.

Say the data is edited on the server you want to push the data to the second server. Those changes will replicate to the second server.
Since you were trying to set up only one way replication I can only assume once the data gets to the second server it is not able to be edited. If this is the case, nothing wll be replicated back to server 1 from server 2, so 2 way replication will work, as long as the data on the second server is not changed, no changes will be replicated back to the first server.
Post by IT Staff
Must i really wait for initial replication to complete before i disabled one connection ?
I wouldn't disable one of the connections. If you want the files to be replicated to the second server you really have to wait until they replicate.


hth
DDS

"IT Staff" <***@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:e7Wm0%***@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
I disabled the connection because i want a one-way connection from hub-spoke, instead of the default 2 ways bi-connections. We want only one member to push updates to another server.

Must i really wait for initial replication to complete before i disabled one connection ?
Post by IT Staff
The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled
This means the replication service detected that there was a problem with the connection. It thinks it has either been removed or disabled.
Post by IT Staff
i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?
So what has happened here is you disabled one of the replication connections and the replication service is reporting that connection, that you disabled, as disabled.
Post by IT Staff
Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.
I don't know what you are talking about here. Why are you disabling replication connections anyway?




hth
DDS

"IT Staff" <***@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:%***@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
======================================================================================================================

The DFS Replication service detected that the connection with partner <primary servername> for replication group X_FOLDERS has been removed or disabled.

======================================================================================================================



i actually disabled the replication connection from receiving partner (spoke) to primary partner (hub). Does it mean replication completed ?

Because for another server, even though i disabled the replication connection, it still performs the Conflict/Deleted process in the eventviewer.



Any idea ?

Continue reading on narkive:
Loading...